Answer Page

That is the correct answer.

         A misconception that many people have is that all of the Amerindian nations sided with the British against the colonists. That was simply not the case. The Iroquois Confederacy, in general, sided with the British, but by the time of the American Revolutionary War the Iroquois Confederacy was beginning to collapse due to differences of opinion. While the Mohawk and Seneca very actively supported the British, the Oneida and Tuscarora assisted the Americans, revealing a rift in the Iroquois Confederacy. Many of the Amerindian nations that supported the American colonists did so under the assumption ~ or rather, the hope ~ that if the British were defeated, the French might try to take control on the colonies. If that were to happen, they presumed that they might have better relations and that they might regain lands they had lost to the colonists.

     The Amerindian nations that sided with the British included: Cayuga, Cherokee, Chicasaw, Choctaw, Miami, Mohawk, Onandaga, Seneca, Shawnee and Wyandot.

     The Amerindian nations that sided with the Americans included: Catawba, Delaware, Maliseet, Micmac, Oneida, Passamaquoddy, Penobscot, Potawami, Stockbridge-Mohican and Tuscarora.

     It is important to note that the Creek Nation did not align themselves with either side. They participated in very few engagements.

Click on the "Betsy Ross Flag" below, or use your browser's "Back" button, for the next question.