Answer Page

That is the correct answer.

         George Grenville was the Prime Minister between 1763 and 1765. William Pitt served in that capacity between 1766 and 1768. Both, Grenville and Pitt continued to voice their opinions during sessions of the British Parliament after they were out of office. Frederick North became Prime Minister in 1770 and remained in that office until 1782. North, a member of the Tory party, was named Lord of the Treasury and Chancellor of the Exchequer (commonly called the Prime Minister) in January 1770. King George III was pleased with this minister because he was able to hold the Whiggish House of Commons in check. North sent a commission to the colonies in North America in 1777 following the defeat of Burgoyne's army at Saratoga to offer a proposal for peace. The proposal was rejected by the colonists. Following the British defeat at Yorktown in November 1781, North's influence began to wane. He resigned in March 1782 after a vote of no confidence in the Parliament.

"Frederick North, Lord North, 2nd Earl of Guilford" by Nathaniel Dance
Parliament, London

Click on the "Betsy Ross Flag" below, or use your browser's "Back" button, for the next question.