1782 Frankstown Township

Tax Assessment ~ Part 2


This image includes the bottom of the first page of the original 1782 tax assessment return for Frankstown Township, within Bedford County, showing the names of Non-Residents "Parr" through "Stevins".

     It should be noted that no assessment return is extant which contains just the names of Residents or Single Freemen. As noted at the end of this return (which appears on page 5), the names on this return are those of Non-Residents with the exception of William Holliday, Poly Holliday, James Holliday, Michael Wallock, Michael Feather, John Mortimore, William Holliday Junr and Phelty Easter.


Note: This image was scanned from a photocopy of the original 1782 tax assessment for Frankstown Township, within Bedford County. The originals of the tax assessment returns were stored, for many years, in Vault #1 in the basement of the Bedford County Court House. The webmaster of this site was given permission by the officials of the Bedford County Court system to photocopy the original returns in the 1980s. A year or two after the original returns were photocopied, a pipe burst in the vault in which the returns were stored, causing water damage to many records, and the original tax assessment returns were subsequently transferred to the Pioneer Historical Society of Bedford County for storage.

   The following is a transcription of the names of the Non-Residents which appear on the 1782 Frankstown Township, Bedford County tax assessment return, as shown in the image above. It is as accurate as possible. The 1782 tax assessment returns were not included in the published Pennsylvania Archives (1897 Edition, Third Series, Volume XXII ).

Parr on Ditto
John Thompson C field
William Holliday
Asa Brown
Samuel Holaday
John McClellan
Adam Holliday
John Buchannan
Doctor Allison
David McRoberts
Jospeh Roberts
Patrick McDonnal
Polly Holiday
John Henry
James Carr
Matthew Dean
Michael Feather
Jacob Cripes
William Holiday
William Holiday Jr
David Lowry
John Martin
John Mortimer
Conrid Brombogh
William Phillip
James Spencer
David Stewart
John Stevins